Disney Professional Internships: Welcome to the Team

Sorry I have not been updating lately, I have been really busy between packing, school, and everything else, it is just hard to sit down and blog.

This past Tuesday (4/14) I received my on boarding, new hire, paperwork from Casting. I was so excited when I saw the two emails, yes two emails, in my inbox. One email contains your password to the on boarding website and the second contains your username and instructions on how to use the on boarding website as well as the link. So, I went ahead and filled out my paperwork which included a bunch of forms that mostly state that I adhere to the rules and regulations of the Walt Disney Company and Walt Disney World Company. Other forms included signing up for direct deposit, so make sure you have your bank account number ready as well as your bank’s routing number.  Once you fill out this paperwork, you are all set and almost officially hired with Disney. Which brings me to story time!!!

On Tuesday when I received my on boarding paperwork, around 6:00pm I went on to my dashboard to see where my PI stands on the progress bar (Post-Offer Stage or Pre-Arrival Stage), it was gone completely. I started to worry a little bit because it was not there and it was already past closing time at the Recruitment office. I was sitting in class until 9:50pm wondering if they retracted my offer or something, my mind was racing a mile a minute. It also didn’t help that I sat in traffic for almost an hour on my way home from school. Once I got home, I googled what this could possibly mean, and to no avail not one PI blog ever mentioned this happening, so I started to worry a little more. I asked other people what this could possibly mean, and they reassured me it was nothing to worry about, however that was not enough. So I tried searching for a phone number because I forgot recruiting’s phone number and could not find it, so I ended up sending them an email. Of course after sending the email, I finally saw at the bottom of my offer letter recruitment’s phone number and at the bottom of my “Welcome to the Team” email. So the next morning after a sleepless night I got on the phone with recruiting and asked what was going on. A really nice lady answered and reassured me that the position disappeared off my Dashboard because recruiting did not need it there anymore since I am almost officially hired with the company again. She explained that this will happen to some applicants and it is nothing to worry about. She even confirmed my arrival information, so that gave me some peace of mind. She said she was excited for me and wished me luck. Then later that day recruiting sent me an email reaffirming what I was told, that it was nothing to worry about and that I am all set in their system. I took the biggest sigh of relief.

Leave a comment